April04 ST. JAMES’ Robert Jacobs Gets Some Coaching From The Metal God

American melodic Hard Rock sensation ST. JAMES, featuring. drummer / producer Carl Canedy of THE RODS, have put out the first of many blasts from the past regarding the band’s early days.

Bassist Robert Jacobs of St James has checked in and provided the following personal historical snapshot:

The year was 1992 and St. James had just started meeting with labels to talk about our new record Attitude. Unfortunately, the rise of grunge music had made it very tough to shop our record. I believe I was walking out of MCA with A&R representative Simon Collins after the VP of the label had explained that Hard Rock and Heavy Metal were done and that grunge was the only thing they were even considering signing. As I was talking to a friend in the lobby, a secretary from the label walked out and told me “that a certain gentlemen wanted you to have this note as he had heard your conversation with the VP of the label from the hallway. He asked that I tell you to keep your head up and keep making music… Hard Rock may change the way it looks, but will never go away”. Below is the note that the secretary had given me.

St. James released their debut album “Resurgence” in December 2016 via Sleaszy Rider records from Greece on both cd and vinyl formats, and is the perfect blend of sounds for fans of Van Halen, Bon Jovi and Aerosmith.

St. James – “Resurgence” tracklist:

1. Attitude
2. Worth Fighting For
3. This Distance
4. Let It Rain
5. What’s Your Situation
6. The Road
7. Rattled Bad
8. Castles in the Sand
9. Shelter Me
10. Somewhere Between Here and There
11. Toughest I can Take
12. In Your Heart
13. Aint It Sad
14. Princess of Pain
15. Crimes of the Heart
16. Inside The Outside
17. Fluffy Through The Hoop

St. James Band Line-Up

*John James – Lead Vocals and Harmonica
*James Jacobs – Guitars and Mandolin
*Robert Jacobs – Bass
*Carl Canedy – Drums (The Rods /     Canedy)

For the latest St. James news and updates, visit the following sites:

Official St. James Facebook website

Official Sleaszy Rider Records website